RSS

Oh Happy Day…

15 Apr

Yahoo!  Today has been another happy day!  Aside from it being a Pay Day Friday, Fully Booked Gateway was ON SALE!  Woohooo!!!  20% off on all their books!  It was time for me to buy all the books I’ve been wanting to buy!

Heaven!!!


Check out what I got!  4 more books added to my collection!  Happiness!
(gist c/o Visual Bookshelf) 

1. Life on the Refrigerator Door: Notes Between a Mother and Daughter, a novel by Alice Kuipers

Claire and her mother are running out of time, but they don’t know it. Not yet. Claire is wrapped up with the difficulties of her bourgeoning adulthood—boys, school, friends, identity; Claire’s mother, a single mom, is rushed off her feet both at work and at home. They rarely find themselves in the same room at the same time, and it often seems that the only thing they can count on are notes to each other on the refrigerator door. When home is threatened by a crisis, their relationship experiences a momentous change. Forced to reevaluate the delicate balance between their personal lives and their bond as mother and daughter, Claire and her mother find new love and devotion for one another deeper than anything they had ever imagined.

I’m sure I’ll be able to finish this book in 20 mins. as each page only contained notes between the mother and her daughter.  Maybe I should have just stayed in Fully Booked for 20 mins. and read it!  Haha!

2. Percy Jackson & the Olympians: Book 5: The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson and the Olympians) by Rick Riordan

The prophecy surrounding Percy’s 16th birthday will be revealed in this final book in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series…

Finally!  In paperback!  I have been waiting for this to be available in paperback format and I’m happy that I got it on sale :)  That completes my collection :)  Yehey! — I heard this last book is really goooood! 🙂

3. Love the One You’re With by Emily Griffin

How do you know if you’ve found the one? Can you really love the one you’re with when you can’t forget the one who got away?

Emily Giffin, author of the New York Times bestselling novels Something Borrowed, Something Blue, and Baby Proof, poses these questions—and many more—with her highly anticipated, thought-provoking new novel Love the One You’re With.

Ellen and Andy’s first year of marriage doesn’t just seem perfect, it is perfect. There is no question how deep their devotion is, and how naturally they bring out the best in each other. But one fateful afternoon, Ellen runs into Leo for the first time in eight years. Leo, the one who brought out the worst in her. Leo, the one who left her heartbroken with no explanation. Leo, the one she could never quite forget. When his reappearance ignites long-dormant emotions, Ellen begins to question whether the life she’s living is the one she’s meant to live. At once heartbreaking and funny, Love the One You’re With is a tale of lost loves and found fortunes—and will resonate with anyone who has ever wondered what if.

I’ve been wanting to buy/read this.  Now that I got it at 20% off, it will be a sweet cheap reading experience. 🙂

4. Room: A Novel by Emma Donoghue

To five-year-old Jack, Room is the entire world. It is where he was born and grew up; it’s where he lives with his Ma as they learn and read and eat and sleep and play. At night, his Ma shuts him safely in the wardrobe, where he is meant to be asleep when Old Nick visits.

Room is home to Jack, but to Ma, it is the prison where Old Nick has held her captive for seven years. Through determination, ingenuity, and fierce motherly love, Ma has created a life for Jack. But she knows it’s not enough…not for her or for him. She devises a bold escape plan, one that relies on her young son’s bravery and a lot of luck. What she does not realize is just how unprepared she is for the plan to actually work.

Told entirely in the language of the energetic, pragmatic five-year-old Jack, ROOM is a celebration of resilience and the limitless bond between parent and child, a brilliantly executed novel about what it means to journey from one world to another.

I grabbed this book while I was waiting for my turn to pay (nabentahan na naman ako!  Tsk!  Tsk!) but among the books which I bought today, I think I’ll be reading this first.  I’m really intrigued on how the story will unfold.  Reviews were quite good as well :)  I’m so excited!

Now, to clone my brains for me to read all of the books on my shelf at the same time…  Haha!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 15, 2011 in Book-a-holic, Good Finds

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Oh Happy Day…

  1. Aia

    April 19, 2011 at 7:56 pm

    Wow!!!! Lots of new books (to borrow. haha!)! I just bough the Mini Shopaholic, can’t wait to read it. But I have to finish the Hunger Games series I borrowed from you first.
    Can’t wait til our next book swap!🙂

     
    • Lexi Chick

      April 19, 2011 at 7:59 pm

      YES! I can’t wait to read them as well BUT I’m still finishing the McCafferty series I borrowed from you as well! Haha! Let’s meet up soon for another book swap! Yey! *nerds talking* Haha!

       
  2. mady

    April 21, 2011 at 11:06 am

    dami na naman books! haha! im done with the hunger games… which means i can buy new books to read! yey! something to keep me busy again… ;P

     
    • Lexi Chick

      April 21, 2011 at 11:20 am

      Haha! My Hunger Games series have already been borrowed and I haven’t even read them yet! Haha! Finishing Megan McCafferty’s series now. Can’t wait to read all of them! Check out the summary of ROOM. Looks interesting🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
