RSS

Wreck This Journal!!!

24 Aug

I looove books.  I love reading books.  I love buying books. I love books.

During my free time, I usually go online just to look for new books to check out, read book reviews and create a list of books to buy. Whenever there are book sales, I try my best to be there so I can get the books in my list🙂

With my love for books, it makes me OC (obsessive compulsive) in terms of taking care of them. My husband would always tell me, the older and used-looking the book gets, the better. Uhm… not for me!

Here are some of the things I dread when it comes to MY books;
1. the cover or pages gets dirty
2. the spine or edges get wrinkled
3. the pages of my books get wrinkled! Waaaaaa!
4. people fold the corner pages of the book. Oh my!
5. people write on the pages of the book. Eeep!

So when I saw Wreck This Journal by Keri Smith online, I told myself that maybe this will help me release some of that OC-ness in me. Maybe it will help me just enjoy all the books I have. Maybe I’ll be able to rediscover the creativeness in me (trivia: I used to draw, using pencil, pretty well). Maybe… Maybe… Maybe…

Off I went to Fully Booked and lucky me, they still had 1 left in stock. Obviously, I checked for wrinkles on the cover, pages, made sure it was wrapped in plastic, etc… I’m sure you get what I mean😉

20110823-100207.jpg

I love the cover. They made the frame on the title look like masking tape🙂

 

Curious of what’s inside? Here’s a sneak peek…

20110823-100344.jpg

The instruction page

20110823-100355.jpg

Ohmiged! I don't like dirty pages, what more, wet pages!!! *heart attack*

20110823-100401.jpg

Intentionally dent the book spine, wrinkle up the pages/cover and get it dirty? *faints*

Get the idea?

I’m not even sure how I’ll start the activities in this book! The mere thought frightens the OC side of me! Wish me luck and I’ll keep everyone posted!

Other thoughts:

* You may buy this book from Fully Booked (check online for availability).  I got it for P520.00.  I’m sure you’ll find it in other bookstores in Manila as well🙂

* This is my 2nd Keri Smith book.  The first one was “How To Be An Explorer of the World”, which I got mooooonths back but didn’t have the courage to get the book “dirty”.  Learned about it from my friends, Aia and Myra.🙂

* Visit Keri Smith‘s website.  It’s pretty cool!  You get to draw stuff and send it to her (little girl talking) 😀

* Check out Keri’s other books from here :)  I can’t wait to get all of them!

* My previous post on other books.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 24, 2011 in Book-a-holic

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Wreck This Journal!!!

  1. archijeks

    May 2, 2012 at 4:21 pm

    I know it’s a bit late, but I would like to see how it looks now🙂 I’m a bit OC myself😉
    Saw this yesterday at Fully Booked (yes, they still have it), was hesitant to buy it so I did a little research. The reviews are great, so am gonna go and grab one when I get home *hyped*.

     
    • Lexi Chick

      May 2, 2012 at 4:48 pm

      Hi! Thank you for leaving me a note🙂 Uhm… you want to know the truth? I haven’t made any mark on the book😦 OC-ness is getting the best of me😦 I will try to start with it really soon! I have to — Or else, it will be such a waste of money🙂

      Let me know how yours go. Let me know if you’ll be able to overcome your OC-ness with this book😉

       
  2. archijeks

    May 2, 2012 at 9:23 pm

    Bought mine earlier, scanned through it. Honestly, I don’t think I will be able to do everything, eg. the dragging and chewing part…😮
    oh wait, i think chewing a page won’t hurt imma give it a try :p

     
    • Lexi Chick

      May 3, 2012 at 7:48 am

      Haha! Good luck! Let me know how it goes! Let me start working on mine too!😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
